South African satirist Pieter-Dirk Uys is still finding the 'mock' in democracy and exposing the 'con' in reconciliation.

He returns to London, this time without his usual armour of false eyelashes, extreme characters and their sketches which helped to deflect the poison arrows of government censorship and political correctness throughout the years of apartheid and even now in the present kleptocracy of the Rainbow Nation.

Now in his 72nd year, he doesn’t glance back at the successes and failures that have strengthened his belief in a constant improvement of his work, but at those small signposts that throughout his life subconsciously have pointed him in a right and original direction – growing up in a white South Africa with his Afrikaner father and his German-Jewish mother, confronting diverse influences on him from grandmothers, teachers and the politics of apartheid, and eventually fighting separate developments in life and sex, using humour as a weapon of mass distraction.

Still inspired by the passions of theatre, his love and friendship of Sophia Loren and after turning the apartheid regime’s censorship of his work into a public relations exercise, he is now presenting his one-man memoir about making a noise when everyone demanded silence.

We are also delighted to present the UK premier of the documentary on Pieter-Dirk Uys’ life, Nobody’s Died Laughing. For more info click here.

Pricing and availability

Wed 30 May 9.15pm
Band A £14.50
Band B £13.50
Band C £12.50
Standing £12.50
Last few
Thu 31 May 9.15pm
Band A £14.50
Band B £13.50
Band C £12.50
Standing £12.50
Last few
Fri 1 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £23.00
Band B £21.00
Band C £18.00
Standing £17.00
Last few
Sat 2 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £23.00
Band B £21.00
Band C £18.00
Standing £17.00
Last few
Mon 4 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £13.50
Band B £12.50
Band C £11.50
Standing £11.50
Last few
Tue 5 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £16.50
Band B £14.50
Band C £11.50
Standing £10.50
Book now
Wed 6 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £17.50
Band B £15.50
Band C £12.50
Standing £11.50
Last few
Thu 7 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £18.00
Band B £16.00
Band C £13.00
Standing £12.00
Last few
Fri 8 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £22.50
Band B £20.50
Band C £17.50
Standing £16.50
Last few
Sat 9 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £23.00
Band B £21.00
Band C £18.00
Standing £17.00
Last few
Mon 11 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £13.00
Band B £12.00
Band C £11.00
Standing £11.00
Last few
Tue 12 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £16.50
Band B £14.50
Band C £11.50
Standing £10.50
Book now
Wed 13 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £16.50
Band B £14.50
Band C £11.50
Standing £10.50
Book now
Thu 14 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £17.50
Band B £15.50
Band C £12.50
Standing £11.50
Last few
Fri 15 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £22.50
Band B £20.50
Band C £17.50
Standing £16.50
Last few
Sat 16 Jun 9.15pm
Band A £23.00
Band B £21.00
Band C £18.00
Standing £17.00
Last few
FILTER
TIME
PRICES AVAILABLE
£10 £23
AVAILABILITY

Sign up for updates

Yes, I'd love to hear from Sho Theatre about shows, events, products and schemes, including memberships. Sign me up.

What will happen with my data? Read our Privacy policy.