Made in India

Tamasha and The Belgrade Theatre Coventry in association with Pilot Theatre present

Made in India

  • By Satinder Chohan
  • Wed 8 - Sat 25 Mar 2017, 7.15pm
  • Soho Upstairs
  • From £12

‘Impressive…an intellectually and emotionally stirring encounter’
★★★★ Observer

In a surrogacy clinic in Gujarat, three women meet.
It’s Londoner Eva’s last chance for motherhood. For village girl Aditi, surrogacy is a lifeline out of poverty. For clinic owner and businesswoman Dr Gupta, it’s all just another transaction.
But with the backdrop of profound global forces, can it possibly remain that simple?
A thrilling new play about birth and motherhood in a brave new world.

Directed by Katie Posner

BSL INTERPRETED PERFORMANCE
Thu 23 Mar, 7.15pm. For people who use British Sign Language. Book tickets by calling the box office on 020 7478 0100

Post Show Q&A
Wednesday 15th March

Running Time: 90 mins
Age Recommendation: 16 +

Made in India Performances

Wed 8 Mar 7:15pm
Thu 9 Mar 7:15pm
Fri 10 Mar 7:15pm
Sat 11 Mar 7:15pm
Tue 14 Mar 7:15pm
Wed 15 Mar 7:15pm
Thu 16 Mar 7:15pm
Fri 17 Mar 7:15pm
Sat 18 Mar 7:15pm
Tue 21 Mar 7:15pm
Wed 22 Mar 7:15pm
Thu 23 Mar 7:15pm
Fri 24 Mar 7:15pm
Sat 25 Mar 7:15pm

‘Impressive…an intellectually and emotionally stirring encounter’
★★★★ Observer

‘A fascinating, compelling look at India’s controversial surrogacy industry.’ Stage

Reviews from recent Tamasha production Blood

‘Wonderfully sharp…the performances here are never less than enthralling.’
★★★★ Time Out

‘A passion-filled tale with lashings of humour as well as intense feeling… a superb piece of new writing’
★★★★ Stage

Creative team

Writer
Satinder Chohan
Director
Katie Posner
Designer
Lydia Denno
Composer and Sound Designer
Arun Ghosh
Lighting Designer
Prema Mehta
AV Designer
Shanaz Gulzar
Assistant Director
Corey Campbell

Cast

Gina Isaac, Syreeta Kumar, Ulrika Krishnamurti