OperaUpClose in association with Soho Theatre present

La traviata

  • Tue 5 Aug – Sun 14 Sep, 7.15pm. Matinees: Sat 2pm, Sun 5pm
  • Soho Theatre
  • Previews 5 & 6 Aug £15. Sun – Thu £25 (£22.50), Fri – Sat £29.50 (£25)
La traviata

Parties, cocktails, heartache and despair. Welcome to the 1920s…

WATCH THE TRAILER

WATCH EXCLUSIVE VIDEO INTERVIEWS AND FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THE SHOW

BEHIND THE SCENES PHOTOS

MEET THE CHARACTERS

QUIZ: WHICH CHARACTER ARE YOU?

Following the success of La bohème and Don Giovanni, Olivier Award-winning company OperaUpClose and director/translator Robin Norton-Hale return to Soho Theatre with their new English version of La traviata.

The story of Violetta, a so-called ‘fallen woman’ who sacrifices her own happiness for the sake of her lover’s family and future, this production is set in the 1920s underworld of speakeasies and bootlegging and reveals the hypocrisy and heartache behind the glittering façade of parties.

With Verdi’s much-loved melodies orchestrated for a trio of clarinet, cello and piano by composer Harry Blake, this La traviata will serenade you, seduce you, and break your heart.

1920s SOIRÉE
Fri 8 Aug, 7.15pm
Indulge in the glamour of the 20s and wear your best vintage outfit!

Follow Soho’s board 1920s Fashion Inspiration on Pinterest.

CAPTIONED PERFORMANCE
Sun 31 Aug, 5pm, £12.50. For people who are Deaf, deafened or hard-of-hearing. Book tickets online by selecting ‘Captioned Ticket’ when prompted.

AUDIO DESCRIBED PERFORMANCE
Tue 9 Sep 7.15pm, £12.50. For people who are blind or visually impaired. Book tickets online by selecting ‘Audio Described Ticket’ when prompted.

Running time: 2hrs 15mins

QUO VADIS PRE SHOW DINING
Planning your evening at Soho Theatre and not sure where to eat before seeing La traviata? The excellent Quo Vadis restaurant, headed by acclaimed chef and Great British Menu star Jeremy Lee, is situated right next to us on Dean Street.

It’s now possible to book a pre-show meal at Quo Vadis along with your La traviata tickets; 2 or 3 courses, including service, still & sparkling water and tea or coffee are available for £17.50 and £20 respectively. Simply select the appropriate option when booking online, or call us on 020 7478 0100 – reservations are available at 5.45 for evening performances, and 12pm for Saturday matinees.

La traviata Performances

Tue 5 Aug 7:15pm
SOLD OUT
Wed 6 Aug 7:15pm
SOLD OUT
Thu 7 Aug 7:15pm
SOLD OUT
Fri 8 Aug 7:15pm
Sat 9 Aug 2:00pm
Sat 9 Aug 7:15pm
Sun 10 Aug 5:00pm
Tue 12 Aug 7:15pm
SOLD OUT
Wed 13 Aug 7:15pm
SOLD OUT
Thu 14 Aug 7:15pm
Fri 15 Aug 7:15pm
Sat 16 Aug 2:00pm
Sat 16 Aug 7:15pm
Sun 17 Aug 5:00pm
Tue 19 Aug 7:15pm
Wed 20 Aug 7:15pm
Thu 21 Aug 7:15pm
Fri 22 Aug 7:15pm
Sat 23 Aug 2:00pm
Sat 23 Aug 7:15pm
Sun 24 Aug 5:00pm
Tue 26 Aug 7:15pm
Wed 27 Aug 7:15pm
Thu 28 Aug 7:15pm
Fri 29 Aug 7:15pm
Sat 30 Aug 2:00pm
Sat 30 Aug 7:15pm
Sun 31 Aug 5:00pm
Tue 2 Sep 7:15pm
Wed 3 Sep 7:15pm
Thu 4 Sep 7:15pm
Fri 5 Sep 7:15pm
Sat 6 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 6 Sep 7:15pm
Sun 7 Sep 5:00pm
Tue 9 Sep 7:15pm
Wed 10 Sep 7:15pm
Thu 11 Sep 7:15pm
Fri 12 Sep 7:15pm
Sat 13 Sep 2:00pm
Sat 13 Sep 7:15pm
Sun 14 Sep 5:00pm

Press on previous OperaUpClose productions:

‘A masterstroke… blissfully funny.’
★★★★ Guardian (on La bohème)

‘A madly brilliant re-imagining.’
★★★★ The Times (on La bohème)

‘Fizzes with fun and fabulousness.’
★★★★ Metro (on La bohème)

★★★★ Daily Express (on La bohème)

‘A huge artistic success.’
New York Times (on La bohème)

‘Opera with the gloves off.’
★★★★ WhatsOnStage (on La bohème)

‘The whole thing fizzes from start to finish.’
★★★★ Daily Telegraph (on L’elisir d’amor)

‘Fizzes with vitality… a real treat.’
★★★★ Time Out (on L’elisir d’amor)

‘OperaUpClose is the brand leader.’
★★★★ Evening Standard (on L’elisir d’amor)

Creative team

Composer
Giuseppe Verdi
Director & librettist
Robin Norton-Hale
Re-orchestrator
Harry Blake
Set Designer
Katie Bellman
Costume Designer
Jonathan Lipman
Lighting Designer
Andrew May

Cast

Piano
Elspeth Wilkes, Alex Beetschen
Violetta
Elinor Jane Moran, Prudence Sanders, Louisa Tee
Alfredo
Robin Bailey, Philip Lee, Lawrence Olsworth-Peter
Germont
David Durham, James Harrison, Andrew Mayor
Flora
Flora McIntosh, Rosie Middleton, Zarah Hible
Baron / Doctor
Dario Dugandzic, Christopher Jacklin, Tom Bullard
Clarinet
Sarah Douglas, Chris Goodman
Cello
Alison Holford, Jay Jenkinson, William Rudge